How do I register or transfer plates to a vehicle, motorcycle or trailer (utility, boat or camper) in Salem?

Please know the Town of Salem and State of New Hampshire have many laws and ordinances with respect to the registration of vehicles. As Municipal Agents for the NH DMV and Clerks for the Town of Salem, we must follow all current laws and ordinances. There are certain, required procedures and documents that MUST be provided for all registration transactions. In other words, we do not make the laws, we must follow them.

Registering vehicles in the State of New Hampshire MUST start at the municipal/local level, first: at the Salem Town Hall. As Municipal Agents for the NH DMV, we are able to perform most State registration functions such as issuing passenger, trailer and motorcycle plates. Specialty registrations and plates, such as Antique and Veteran, must be completed at the NH DMV. A nominal fee of $3 is automatically added to each transaction that we are completing on behalf of the NH DMV, thereby saving you an additional trip to the NH DMV to complete the registration process.

For vehicles, motorcycles or trailers (utility, boat or camper) purchased from an Out-of-State Dealership OR Private Sale OR Moved into Salem from Out-of-State, please present the following at time of registration at the Town Hall:

  1. Current, valid NH Driver's License (or Out-of-State license if within 60 days of moving into New Hampshire)
  2. Vehicle/motorcycle/trailer's Title, Application for Certificate of Title (certain authorized Massachusetts dealerships), or Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin completed with required Seller's and Buyer's information and Odometer Reading.
  3. If Leased: all pages of the Lease Agreement designating the Leasing Company (Lessor)
  4. If Financed: all pages of the Bill of Sale designating the Lending Bank
  5. If transferring NH-issued license plates from a previous vehicle to the new vehicle: the ORIGINAL, current, signed registration for those plates
  6. If moving in from out-of-state: the ORIGINAL current registration from the previous state of issue.
  7. If the manufacturer's year is 1999 or OLDER, two (2) of the following MUST be presented: Original Title, Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin, Verification of Vehicle Identification (TDMV 19A), Bill of Sale (with buyer, seller, VIN, sale price, and any other details available), or previous owner's registration.

For vehicles, motorcycles or trailers (utility, boat or camper) purchased from a New Hampshire Dealership, please present the following at time of registration at the Town Hall:

  1. Current, valid NH Driver's License
  2. Completed and signed Application for Certificate of Title (Town Clerk's Copy), Title, or Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin completed with required Seller's and Buyer's information and Odometer Reading.
  3. If transferring NH-issued license plates from a previous vehicle to the new vehicle: the ORIGINAL, current, signed registration for those plates.

For an ESTIMATE on vehicle registration fees, new and renewal: NH Vehicle Estimator