Budget Committee

-A A +A

The Budget Committee serves in an advisory capacity and reviews the proposed operating budgets, capital and warrant articles for the Town of Salem and the Salem School District. The Committee then recommends or suggests modifications to the budget to the voters, who have the final say on the ballot and at the Town Meeting.

The Committee consists of seven at large citizen members, two ex officio members representing the selectmen and the school board, and two alternates for the ex officio members. The selectmen and the school board appoint the ex officio members and their alternates. The at large members are elected at the annual town elections in March. When an at large position is vacant, new members may be appointed until the next annual election by a majority vote of the Committee.

Members elected annually in March for 3-year terms.

Note: The public is welcome to attend meetings. All agendas, minutes and notices provided on this website are for informational purposes only. Draft versions of minutes may be subject to change. Official copies and any attachments referenced are available at the Town Hall.

Board Members

Name Title
Steven Chartrain Chairman (March 2019)
D.J. Bettencourt Vice-Chairman (March 2019)
Peter Edgerly Secretary (March 2021)
Paul Huard (March 2021)
Steven Goddu (March 2020)
Sean Lewis (March 2021)
Thomas Plante (March 2020)
James S. Keller Selectmen Representative (Town Budget)
Robert F. Bryant Selectmen Representative (School Budget)
Bernard Campbell School Board Representative
Michael Carney School Board Representative (Alternate)
Everett P. McBride, Jr. Selectmen Representative (Second Alternate)
Syndicate content